Navigation – Plan du site


Belgian National Committee for Geography

The 25 National Committees for each scientific discipline emanate from the French- and Dutch-speaking Belgian Academies, under the umbrella of the RASAB (The Royal Academies for Science and the Arts of Belgium). They are composed on equal linguistic terms of representatives of the different Belgian universities, who discuss questions related to their discipline and promote it, in particular in international relations. So, the National Committee for Geography represents Belgium in the International Geographical Union.

The Belgian National Atlases, whose third edition is coming to an end at Academia Press/Lanoo in Ghent, were prepared under the auspices of the sub-commission of the Atlas of the National Committee for Geography, chaired by E. Van Hecke ( Another sub-commission of the National Committee, devoted to geomorphology, is chaired by J. Poesen.

The National Committee for geography is composed of 16 full members. It is presently chaired by Ph. De Mayer (UGent), the deputy-president being C. Vandermotten (ULB) and the secretary C. Kesteloot (KUL). The other full members are, on the Dutch-speaking side, J. Nyssen (UGent), A. Verhetsel (UA), F. Canters and M. Kervyn (VUB), G. Govers and E. Van Hecke (KUL) and, on the French-speaking side, F. Dobruszkès (ULB), E. Lambin and I. Thomas (UCL), J.P. Donnay, M. Erpicum and B. Mérenne-Schoumaker (ULg) and N. Dendoncker (UNamur). It also includes associated members and honorary members, and invites the chairmen of the two associations of teachers in geography in secondary schools, presently L. Zwartjes for the Dutch-speaking VLA and J.F. Close for the French-speaking FEGEPRO, to join its works.

Royal Belgian Geographical Society

Since its creation in 1876, the Royal Belgian Geographical Society (SRBG) has been publishing a review, called Bulletin de la Société Belge de Géographie the seven first years, later Bulletin de la Société Royale Belge de Géographie, and Revue belge de géographie from 1962 till 1999. Belgeo appeared in 2000. The SRBG also publishes vulgarization works, and represents Belgium in the Association of Geographical Societies in Europe (EUGEO).


Solbosch Campus – Building D, level 6, Avenue Depage, 30 – 1050 Brussels, Belgium


Université libre de Bruxelles, Campus du Solbosch - CP 130/03, Avenue F.D. Roosevelt, 50 – B-1050 Bruxelles

Phone : +32(0)2.650.68.02 (Mrs Nathalie Auspert & Mr Paul Bettens)
Fax : +32.(0)2.650.68.30
Mail :

  • Logo Fondation Universitaire/Universitaire Stichting
  • Logo Fonds de la Recherche Scientifique - FNRS
  • Logo National Comittee of Geography
  • Logo SRBG
  • OpenEdition Journals