Skip to navigation – Site map
Special feature


Judith Pernin and Sebastian Veg
p. 3-5


While discussions continue about the details of the periodisation of post-1949 history in China, there is a general consensus to accept a divide between roughly two periods of 30 years: one spanning the events from the foundation of the People’s Republic of China (PRC) to Mao’s death and subsequent arrest of the “Gang of Four,” and the second running from the Third Plenum of the 11th Central Committee in December 1978, during which Deng Xiaoping consolidated his power, until the present day. While the second period is commonly referred to as the time of “Reform and Opening,” the first may be designated as the “Mao era,” given the central role of the PRC’s first leader and the personality cult surrounding him from 1949 until his death and even beyond…

Top of page


Bibliographical reference

Judith Pernin and Sebastian Veg, « Editorial », China Perspectives, 2014/4 | 2014, 3-5.

Electronic reference

Judith Pernin and Sebastian Veg, « Editorial », China Perspectives [Online], 2014/4 | 2014, Online since 01 January 2017, connection on 23 April 2019. URL :

Top of page

About the authors

Judith Pernin

By this author

Sebastian Veg

By this author

Top of page


© All rights reserved

Top of page
  • Logo CEFC – Centre d’études français sur la Chine contemporaine
  • OpenEdition Journals